71 Comments
author

This week I finished listening to MY NAME IS LUCY BARTON by Elizabeth Strout and I LOVED it! The audio narration was excellent and brought a melancholic tone to the story that I think I would've missed in print. I thought this exploration of a complicated mother/daughter relationship was fascinating, complex, and at times quite sad. At less than 4 hours on audio this was a fast listen too. This is my first Elizabeth Strout and I have Michelle Beckwith (@bookshelfbybeckwith on instagram) to thank for answering my question of which Elizabeth Strout I should start with. Feel free to all chime in with which one of her books I should pick up next!

I'm editing my post to add in a photo too - A few of the books I'm prioritizing from my unread shelves this month are: DRACULA by Bram Stoker, MY DARK VANESSA by Kate Elizabeth Russell, CALL FOR THE DEAD by John LeCarre, SKIN DEEP by Liz Nugent, THE RESURRECTION OF JOAN ASHBY by Cherise Wolas, and THE GOLDFINCH by Donna Tartt

My husband and I started watching The Perfect Couple on Netflix and we're enjoying it. We've watched 3 episodes, the setting is stunning! I'm actually liking the show much better than the book. And Nicole Kidman is so good at playing bitchy characters!

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Iā€™m so glad you loved Elizabeth Strout!!!! I finished watching the Perfect Couple and thought it was so good.

Expand full comment
author

I'm so glad I loved my first Elizabeth Strout too, now I'm excited to continue with her backlist and also her new one, especially since Oprah picked it. What are your favorite books by her??

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I loved I am Lucy Barton, Oh William and Lucy by the Sea. Those are my favorites.

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Oh! William and Lucy by the sea ā¤ļø but I loved all of her books! šŸ˜ I canā€™t wait to read the new one šŸ„°

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Oprah said you could start with her new one, so thatā€™s what Iā€™m doing. Hoping it goes well. Iā€™ve had her on my radar for a long time.

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I binged The Perfect Couple last weekend Renee! Love Nicole Kidman in those roles. Let me know what you think of My Dark Vanessa!

Expand full comment
author

Will do!

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

This week I finished up the last books for my Fall Fiction Compendiumā€¦hooray! After Iā€™m done Iā€™ll be reading THE MOST, LIKE MEAT LOVES SALT, and the second Neapolitan novel. And Iā€™m watching English Teacher which is so funny and which might be the best representation of life in a high school Iā€™ve ever seen.

Expand full comment
author

Can't wait for tomorrow and your fall guide! I need to know more about Like Meat- that title wow it's interesting

Expand full comment

Sara, I can't wait to see what you think of THE MOST!

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Renee, Iā€™m reading How to Read a Book by Monica Wood. I think youā€™d love it.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for this rec, Katie told me I should read it too so I'll grab a copy and join the club of you who love this book:)

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Such a good one!

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Isnā€™t it?? I just love the writing. Itā€™s beautiful and funny and wistful and hopeful and heartbreaking all at once.

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

How To Read A Book will definitely make my Top Ten list for 2024ā£ļøšŸ’™ā£ļø

Expand full comment

I loved the themes and the messages throughout. A powerful and heartwarming story.

Expand full comment

Mine too. ā¤ļø

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Renee - thanks for the opportunity to share.

- This week I finished Uncommon Grounds: The History of Coffee and How It Transformed the World by Mark Pendergrast. I am writing a series of articles which will appear in November on coffee and its relationship with literature for my publication, Beyond the Bookshelf. This was a fantastic history of my favorite beverage.

- I am prioritizing reading books that have been on my shelf for awhile that I can utilize to inform my writing. Since I will be hosting a read-along of Homer's The Iliad and The Odyssey starting in January, I have been reading stuff on the Greek Hero, mythology, ancient history, etc...

- I have been watching Dark Winds on Netflix. It is very good in my opinion.

Expand full comment
author

I love coffee, that nonfiction sounds interesting!

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I am very close to finishing The Examiner by Janice Hallett. I am prioritizing some spooky reads on my shelves that I didnā€™t get to last year. Those being Starling House by Alix E. Harrow and The Only One Left by Riley Sager. However, next I am reading a new release book Someone in the Attic by Andrea Mara. I have been watching a marathon of Beachfront Bargain Hunt on Max.

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

First, my favorite books by Elizabeth Strout are Olive Kitteridge, Olive Again, and The Burgess Boys. This week I finished reading Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke and Burning Bright by Nick Petrie. For some reason Iā€™m in the mood for mystery, suspense and espionage spy thrillers. I picked up THE MAN IN THE CORDUROY SUIT BY JAMES WOLF. I had no idea what I was walking into when I picked up this book. I am halfway through the book and not sure if I want to continue. I had three books prioritized on my shelf to read next but I may have to reconsider and create a new list. so the books that I am tentatively considering reading our: ALL THAT IS MINE I CARRY WITH ME, CITY OF DREAMS, and MY DARKEST PRAYER. I also may squeeze in another book in the Peter Ash series by Nick Petrie. I truly love this series and there are only seven books in the series so far. I have read the first two. I think that I have mainly read literary fiction this year and second would be mystery and suspense. They seem to be the only two genres that I read with the exception of a few nonfiction here and there.

Expand full comment
author

City of Dreams was so good! I'll miss Don Winslow's writing. I feel like you'd like All That Is Mine I Carry With Me, it was good on audio too. My mom loved The Burgess Boys, I forgot about that Elizabeth Strout!

Expand full comment

I loved Bluebird, Bluebird and Heaven My Home by Attica Locke.

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Renee, I finished THE SEQUEL earlier this week and loved it! I actually not only found myself pulling for Anna, but actually empathizing with her. šŸ˜³ Iā€™m calling that the mark of some great writing. Iā€™m currently halfway through Iā€™m Thinking of Ending Things and I am totally sucked in. I started AN HONEST MAN today from my unread audiobook shelf- another Renee rec! Other than that I need to get to reading the books I bought from BOTM and Aardvark that have been piling up.

We started The Perfect Couple earlier this week and Iā€™m sure weā€™ll finish it.

And as always, Lit Fic is at the top of my list. No close 2nd.

Expand full comment
author

oh yay!! Wasn't it so good?! I'm with you, the author did a brilliant job with Anna in book 2. Super interested in hearing what you think of I'm Thinking of Ending Things and An Honest Man, I know you don't read many thrillers but I feel like Michael Koryta could be a great fit for you. My husband and I will finish The Perfect Couple this weekend, so far I can't remember the book at all so it's a new to me story haha

Expand full comment
Sep 15Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

She did a phenomenal job! So far, Iā€™m definitely enjoying An Honest Man. I needed something fast but that would hold my attention, and so far itā€™s working! I also finished Iā€™m Thinking of Ending Things and I liked it! Surprisingly, I actually started figuring things out a lot more easily than I thought I would, but I really felt like he did such a great job building a sense of dread and horror. that it kept me glued to the pages for the last third regardless of guessing the ending!

Expand full comment
author

You deserve a huge gold star for figuring that out!! I'm so glad An Honest Man is working for you

Expand full comment
Sep 17Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I listened to THE PLOT when it came out but have zero memory of it. Do you think I should relisten before THE SEQUEL? I keep forgetting about the Perfect Couple - I think that might be a show my husband and I could enjoy together (when he's not watching football).

Expand full comment
Sep 18Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I went back and googled spoiler summaries of The Plot and they got me all caught up!

Expand full comment
author

Thatā€™s what I was going to suggest:)

Expand full comment
author

I donā€™t think you need to reread whole book, just checking some spoilers online should refresh your memory

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I just finished Perris, California and gave it 5 stars ā­ļø I think the characters in that book will stay with me for a long time!

Starting The Rachel Incident and Wedding People for upcoming book clubs!

I watched the most horrifying documentary called Night Stalker on Netflix about a serial killer in the 80ā€™s. I was born in 77 so I donā€™t remember this but it was horrific. I watched all 4 parts on a plane ride home on Monday. Has anyone watched that or remember that happening?

Have a great weekend everyone! Officially pulling out the Halloween šŸŽƒ decorations this weekend as it finally feels a little cooler in Oklahoma and I am here for it! šŸ“ššŸ™ŒšŸ»šŸ§Ÿ

Expand full comment
author

Yay for 5 stars for Perris!! I truly think that book would work for most readers and it's a mystery why it's flying under the radar. I haven't heard of that documentary but I want to watch it, I was born in 72 but I wasn't paying much attention to the news in the 80s- back when you had to watch tv at a certain time in order to get the news - AKA the good old days šŸ˜…

Expand full comment

All three of those books were 4.5 or 5ā­ļø reads for me. Enjoy!

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Hi, Renee and all. I just finished reading The Surgeonā€™s Daughter by Audrey Blake for Book Club. It is the sequel to The Girl In His Shadow. The stories revolve around a young woman who was raised by a surgeon in Victorian era London and who went to Bologna Italy for her medical degree. The underlying theme is that women were not permitted to practice medicine, especially surgery, at that time. They were both good!

My new September read is from my Kindle graveyard instead of book shelf but Iā€™m calling that the same. And itā€™s tied directly to what Iā€™ve been watching. I just binged the first season on Dark Winds on Netflix and when I saw that it was based on a novel be Tony Hillerman, I went searching and found a copy of the first in the series already purchased. Itā€™s scratching my itch for a mystery, which is my largest genre of reading, confirmed by The Storygraph

Expand full comment
author

Your Kindle graveyard definitely counts! I love that you already had purchased that book when you went looking for it- bookish serendipity at work. Haven't heard of Dark Winds but I have heard of Tony Hillerman, that's also the best when you enjoy a show and then find out it's based on a book, I love when that happens because there's usually more to discover when reading the book

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Definitely serendipity. Iā€™m excited to have a new series to follow. That will curate my next reads for the month.

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I just started Horse by Geraldine Brooks. Iā€™ve had it for a couple years and as I read this excellent book makes me wonder what took me so long to read it! Actually, I had 2 copies and sent one to my niece. We are buddy reading it. So my work here is doneā€¦Iā€™ve gotten one of my beloveds to love reading! šŸ˜‰

Expand full comment
author

love that you and your niece are buddy reading! I've been reading some nonfiction with my adult son one the past 18 months and it makes me feel so happy when he gives me a book rec and then we can talk about it together- esp because he hated to read literally until 18 months ago.

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Iā€™m reading Double Exposure by Elissa R Sloan and finishing Sing Sing Files on audio. Loving both! Iā€™m watching The Secret Lives of Mormon Wives but embarrassed to say so. šŸ˜‚

Expand full comment
author

Looking forward to your thoughts on Double Exposure, I'm going to read it soon. Same with Sing Sing.

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

What are you reading this weekend (or what did you finish reading this week)? I'm listening to LOLITA by Vladimir Nabokov on audio. I started with the physical copy but haven't made time for it and listening has been easier. I also finished listening to THE FACULTY LOUNGE by Jennifer Mathieu earlier this week and loved it.

What books are you prioritizing from your unread shelves? Upcoming eARCs! I have a few publishing in October that I need to read later this month.

What are you watching? A Discover of Witches! OMG why did no one tell me about this book series and show? I can't peel my eyes off the TV.

Expand full comment
author

I knew about the book series Discovery of Witches but not the series, I bet that's good this time of year

Expand full comment
Sep 19Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Just picked up Fellowship Point which has been on my shelves for awhile. Packed it for my trip to Maine.

Expand full comment
Sep 16Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Just finished A little Life by Hanya Yanagihara. It was sad and so very well written it kept me reading till the end.

It Starts with Us by Colleen Hoover is a read I will start next.

Enjoying watching the WNBA Indiana Fever basketball games.

Expand full comment
author

I agree with both your thoughts on A Little Life, itā€™s hard to ask if you liked it but how did you feel about it when you finished?

Expand full comment
Sep 17Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I felt like I will be thinking of the characters for a long time. Most books I read I forget all about them once Iā€™m finished. This one will stick with me for a while.

Expand full comment
author

They really do stay with you, I still think about them 9 years later

Expand full comment
Sep 16Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I finished THE HUSBAND by Maude Venture, the book was very good, definitely a dark and interesting, main character was OBSESSED with her husband! I gave it 4 stars, Iā€™m currently listening to THE WEDDING PEOPLE and reading (print) STILL LIFE by Sarah Winman, Iā€™m really enjoying STILL LIFE, not sure about THE WEDDING PEOPLE, might DNF , so far itā€™s not working for me. I want to read Elizabeth Stroud books, I have not read any of her book, I have Oh William on my shelf, I might try to read it this month, I might add Dracula too. Super excited to see Balletmetā€™s Dracula, here in Columbus, I just purchased tickets today. My husband and I are about to watch Perfect Couple this evening , I heard many good things about it!

Expand full comment
author

Wasnā€™t My Husband interesting? I loved the ending. I didnā€™t know Dracula was coming to the Balletmet in Columbus, I may need to check on tickets. Iā€™m glad to hear thereā€™s one other person who struggled with The Wedding People:)

Expand full comment
Sep 15Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Hi! I just finished The Wedding People (5ā­ļø) and started Penance by Eliza Clark. I also loved Chimp Crazy and The Secret Lives of Mormon Wives. Have a great weekend!

Expand full comment
author

I love the cover of Penance, it also sounds like something Iā€™d like, let us know what you think when you finish:)

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Oh how I can relate to not being able to find a grasping thriller. I too, feel I have read SO MANY good ones, really struggling to find something I can't wait to get back into, or NOT want to put down. I also catastrophize, thinking I will NEVER have that feeling again, yet I know I most certainly will :)

What are you reading this weekend (or what did you finish reading this week)? Just finished "The Divorce", Finishing up: Blue Sisters and One Star Romance, going to start Riley Sager's "Middle of the Night" , next!

What are you watching? I struggle to watch any tv (this is a good thing? Im not sure) Anyway, really trying to dedicate some time to watch The Perfect Couple, Three Women, and Tell me Lies, wish me luck!

Expand full comment
author

I hope we both find an unputdownable thriller soon šŸ¤žšŸ» How was The Divorce?

Expand full comment
Sep 15Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

The Divorce was just ok? I found the MC whiney? Had a difficult time connecting. It was told in two parts, each partner shared their views. It was interesting, but forgettable.

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Hi to all. I was surprised to find that my most read genre this year is bio/memoir. This week I read THE BERRY PICKERS (Amanda Peters) which I wasn't sure I wanted to read when it came out. Last week a friend recommended it based on her friend's reco and so I got it out of the library and LOVED it. I was drawn in from beginning to end. This was a debut book for the author. I am having a big DNF month (5 books), all of them from my TBR list. Today I finished KNIFE (Salman Rushdie) about the attack against him in 2022. It's deeply personal and shocking, but worth reading. I treated myself to Liane Moriarity's new book, HERE ONE MOMENT.

Expand full comment
author

Jan I love that nonfiction is your top genre so far, I love hearing what nonfictions people are reading, I just got the audio of The Siege by ben Macintyre, is that one you've heard about? I felt the same about The Berry Pickers, it's not called to me but you've got me thinking I'll add it to my tbr. For me, it usually takes a trusted source to say they loved something I hadn't planned on reading and then straight to my tbr that book will go:) I'm definitely reading Here One Moment!!

Expand full comment

Good morning, I've heard about but I already read

Expand full comment

Sorry about the blip. I looked at THE SEIGE but I've already read a book by the ops guys who freed them all. It was fascinating. HERE ONE MOMENT takes a bit of getting used to. It alternates between the fortunetellers' past story and the stories of several of the passengers that took place before the flight as well as subsequent to it. It's 500 pages but many chapters aren't even a page long. I'm just halfway through and am enjoying it.

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Happy Friday! I just finished The Underground Library, a sweet story of a library set in a tube station in London during the Blitz in World War Two. I am currently reading Everyone on this Train is a suspect and I plan to start The Mesmerist. I just finished watching The Secret Lives of Mormon Wives-it was crazy and looking forward to Survivor starting this upcoming week. Also, football is back and I love it. This is my second year to play Fantasy football and it is so much fun.

Expand full comment
author

I just got the audio of The Mesmerist, it seems like a perfect fall read!

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I just finished some long lingering books I've been reading: No No Boy by John Okada, Dangers of Smoking in Bed (Stories) by Marianna Enriquez, and Gag Reflex by Elle Nash. I'll be reading The Road to the Country this weekend and prioritizing the books on the NBA fiction longlist! Watching The Righteous Gemstones again!

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I have been watching a lot of BookTube videos recently in preparation for an upcoming post I am planning to write about BookTube. If anyone has any BookTube channel recommendations for me, I would love to hear them.

As for reading, unfortunately I have been DNFing a lot recently; but I did finish a lovely, bookish, fantasy short story: ā€œLittle Free Libraryā€ by Naomi Kritzer. This is the second short story of hers that I have read and loved recently. So I am planning to try more of her work.

Expand full comment
author

The only BookTube I keep up with is Brett's Book stack, he's got a great BookTube and reads a ton

Expand full comment
Sep 14Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I will try his channel out. Thanks!

Expand full comment
Sep 13Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I stayed up way too late last night to finish BIRD BOX by Josh Malerman and now I can't wait to pick up the sequel! I watched the movie years ago when it first came out on Netflix and remember enjoying it but couldn't remember much else so I'm glad I waited to read the book and I was completely hooked (and terrified)! Also think the story hits differently now that I have young kidsā€¦

I'm looking forward to prioritizing my shelves after I finish THE WILL OF MANY by James Islington, a huge undertaking so we'll see if I continue, I plan to read at least 100 pages of this 600+ page fantasy before deciding. On my shelves, I'm hoping to get to THE TAINTED CUP by Robert Jackson Bennett and reread ORDINARY MONSTERS by J.M. Miro (book 2 comes out next week I think).

I finished watching Dark Matter, which I also read recently and loved seeing how they adapted it, it followed the book pretty closely with enough differences that I can totally see a season 2 in the making!

Bonus response: Thrillers are my most read so far with literary fiction not too far behind

Have a great weekend!

Expand full comment
author

Bird Box is still on my spooky season tbr! I feel like I would like it so I'm glad you shared about it. I've heard good things about The Tainted Cup and Ordinary Monsters- I have OM on my shelf at home too

Expand full comment

I had a long flight earlier this week and watched five episodes of Ronan Farrowā€™s documentary about Harvey Weinstein. Like a trainwreck I couldnā€™t stop watching šŸ˜Ÿ

Expand full comment

Vicki I think I will have to watch as well!

Expand full comment

This week I'm finishing FELLOWSHIP POINT by Alice Elliot Dark. I'm prioritising via my mood which right now means fantasy and magic featuring books - I'm excited to keep going with THE MIRROR VISITOR series which I've rested for too long and THE FAMILIAR by Leigh Bardugo, I'm also excited by THE ACADEMY OF LIARS which is meant to be similar to NINTH HOUSE but we'll see if I can hold out buying it until October!

I just finished Emily in Paris' new season and loved it, I love that it's becoming more realistic otherwise, I'll be starting TELL ME LIES S2 this weekend

Expand full comment