ItsBookTalk & More
ItsBookTalk & More Podcast
Reading Simplified: Mystery & Thriller Book Recs on Audio
0:00
-36:45

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of ItsBookTalk & More

Reading Simplified: Mystery & Thriller Book Recs on Audio

Recent mystery/thriller reads, including a 5⭐️ upcoming new release & book lists
23

**NOTE- I’ve uploaded this audio as a podcast so you should be able to easily access, listen, and change the audio speed in the app now

Hi everyone! For this month’s Reading Simplified I’m returning to my comfort genre, mysteries and thrillers. I love this genre for many reasons - the unsettling nature of an unreliable narrator, the fast pace storytelling of a thriller, morally gray characters doing questionable things that make it hard to look away and easy to keep turning the pages, and the puzzle of a well plotted mystery to name a few reasons.

This month, I decided to include all the mystery/thrillers I read in August, not just the ones I loved. I haven’t talked about any of these picks publicly yet! I ended up finishing a few that were enjoyable, but I didn’t “love” them. I think many of you might love them so I want to talk about them. Also, one of them is getting some good buzz and another I’ve heard nothing about. But I did have one clear 5 star standout (an upcoming new release) and I can’t wait to tell you about it so you can have the early scoop for your library holds and preorders.

I’m also including the thriller I’m currently reading, as well as a few mystery/thriller book lists I love. The list of all books mentioned and the book lists will be below, but I’ll be talking about the books I read in the included audio podcast. I’ll also share some thoughts about what I’m thinking about this new series, I hope you enjoy listening on the go:)

Previous Reading Simplified posts **Attention free subscribers- I’ve removed the paywall from Italian Summer for the next few days!

Join today for book recs & lists!

If you want to be surprised, listen to the audio before looking at the book lists

**********************************************************************

This post is for paid subscribers

ItsBookTalk & More
ItsBookTalk & More Podcast
Helping You Discover Your Next Great Read With Book Recommendations & Reviews, Notes On Our Reading Lives, Community Chats, & More
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Renee - Itsbooktalk & More