56 Comments
author

REMARKABLY BRIGHT CREATURES by Shelby Van Pelt was a favorite 5 ⭐️ read of July- the audio was excellent and I'm still thinking about the story and Marcellis the octopus.

I've been enjoying watching the Olympics, so much so that I haven't been reading in the evenings. I'm in awe of the athletes, esp Simone Biles. I've also been enjoying podcast listening - one of my favorite July listens was on the Ten Percent Happier with Dan Harris podcast- his July 29 episode on the science of manifestation was super interesting

A couple August new release books I'm looking forward to are HOUSE OF GLASS by Sarah Pekkanen, IN EVERY LIFE by Rea Frey, and BLUE SISTERS by Coco Mellors. I'm also so so excited for the return of Emily in Paris this month!!!

Expand full comment
Aug 3Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Would love to hear how you go with Blue Sisters - I enjoyed her first book but I think I'm done with sad girl novels, please let me know if this one is also so depressing as I'll skip it! Also hanging out for Emily in Paris! x

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I enjoyed my vacation to Florida to visit my dad for a week by myself. I had been extremely stressed out caring for my disabled adult son and I desperately needed a break from it and my husband. I went to two different beaches and enjoyed being out on my dad’s Lanai reading and relaxing. I also used the hot tub. It was wonderful and relaxing

Expand full comment
author

I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in Florida. It sounds like you had some much needed rest and relaxation - and reading!

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I love fresh fruit, I don’t take for granted being blessed and having access to so much fresh produce, at reasonable prices.

My 5⭐️ read for July is most definitely Tom Lake!

Expand full comment
author

Agree, I'm very lucky to live near farmer's markets.

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My 5 ⭐️ read was All The Colors Of The Dark for July. I was browsing somewhere and discovered a book that i cannot believe that I had never heard of called The Love Songs of W. E. B. Du Bois. It is 29 hours long. I am seriously thinking about starting that in August. I was most looking forward to reading The Wedding People by Alison Espach. I am currently reading it and loving it so much! I am also reading The Only Plane In The Sky: An oral history if 9/11 by Garrett M. Grass in audio. It is incredible. Back to July for moment. A few notable books that I want to mention are Piglet, Unraveling Oliver, What Happened To Nina, Long Island and The Banker’s Wife. Happy weekend everyone!

Expand full comment
author

So glad you’re loving your current reads! I had a feeling you’d feel that way about The Only Plane in the Sky- it’s one of those books you’ll never forget and the audio truly enhances it. I remember when Oprah picked The Love Songs of W E B Du Bois but I couldn’t tackle it because of the length - when I was reading for the podcast- let me know your thoughts if you start it!

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

The Covenant of Water was 32 hours long and I read it back to back with Robert Galbraith’s most recent book and that book was 30 hours long. So I have high hopes to get through this book. Also forgot to mention that I’m with you on the farmer market. I just spent $92 there on Tuesday.

Expand full comment
founding

I’m in line to borrow All The Colors of the Dark on Libby. Thx for sharing that it was a 5 ⭐️ for you! Can’t wait to get it!

Expand full comment

I absolutely love this story. The book will pull you in immediately on page one. Some people had issues with the writing format. It is not difficult to understand but it’s not everyone’s cup of tea so to speakI absolutely love this story. The book will pull you in immediately on page one. Some people had issues with the writing format. It is not difficult to understand but it’s not everyone’s cup of tea so to speak..

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Zucchini blueberry bread sounds wonderful!

July is always a fun month for me because I go spend a week with my sisters. It’s also where I grew up so it always evokes feelings of nostalgia. My 5 ⭐️ read for July was What Comes After by Joanne Tompkins.

Most anticipated reads for August are All the Colors of the Dark (currently reading We Begin at the End), God of the Woods, and The Wedding People.

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My favorite July books were Familiaris by David Wroblewski and The God of the Woods by Liz Moore. For August, I am looking forward to reading a few mysteries/thrillers, which are not my normal genre. I just purchased my first Riley Sager book, Middle of the Night. So, we will see...

Expand full comment
author

I'll be interested in hearing what you think of Middle of the Night!

Expand full comment

Middle of the Night is Sagers best best in my opinion - if you like Stephen King I think you'll love this! x

Expand full comment

Thank you...I do like Stephen King's non-horror books and have read several of them.

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I’m reading God of the Woods and also trying to finish Swan Song. I’ve also been absolutely loving the Olympic coverage!! My reading has slacked because of it, hehe. I’m looking forward to the new book by the author of Stone Cold Fox; her new one is We Love the Nightlife!

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I really enjoyed Stone Cold Fox on audio! Was looking forward to her new book but balked when I learned it has vampires lol.

Expand full comment
author

Did you like Stone Cold Fox? That’s still on my tbr and I just grabbed the audio recently, I love a con/heist story

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Yes, I really liked that book! It was a quick read for me. If you like rich people and con stories, it’s a must!

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Renee, I totally get the whole expectations thing - it has definitely impacted my reading, at times, as well!! My favorite July reads were All the Colors of the Dark, The Same Bright Stars and Summer Romance! I just finished out the month with a week at the beach, plus it was my birthday month, so July has been pretty great! Talk about expectations…pretty sure August is going to be a bummer after all of that! 😂

Expand full comment
author

haha well you may have to lower your August expectations right? Happy belated birthday! Your beach reading pic on IG made me jealous- beach reading is the best. So glad you had several winners for July 👏🏻

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Mine is Sea of Tranquility and Letters to a Young Poet (which I read on my birthday and making it extra special)

Expand full comment
author

I definitely want to read Sea of Tranquility- did you read The Glass Hotel first? I just read Station Eleven (finally) in the spring and loved it, but so far my fav of hers is The Singer’s Gun

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Yes I did read The Glass Hotel back in 2022 and loved it. I haven’t read The Singer’s Gun yet and will put that in my radar. I also heard that she’s writing a screenplay for her first novel, Last Night in Montreal, which I haven’t read yet.

Expand full comment
Aug 3Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I loved Sea of Tranquility! I read it in 1 day!

Expand full comment
Aug 3Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

yes! short and succinct!

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My favorite July reads were When Among Crows, Enemies to Lovers, and The Seven Year Slip. I rated them all between 4 and 5 stars! My kids went back to school in July so I feel like it was a really strange month. I'm looking forward to following more of the Olympics coverage in August.

Expand full comment

That’s so early for your kids! 😫 I am loving the Olympics right now - very excited for the upcoming running/track & field events!

Expand full comment

Me too! After gymnastics that’s what I enjoy the most.

Expand full comment
Aug 6Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Remarkably bright creatures is a top forever read for me! I absolutely loved that book. I had a great reading month in July, I read ten and had THREE five stars- The god of the woods, Lulu dean’s library of banned books and all the colors of the dark. Also, honorable mentions to the Lion Women of Tehran and Summer Romance. Annabel Monaghan seems to be the only rom com author I enjoy! I’m also so looking forward to seeing Emily again ☺️

Expand full comment
author

whoa 3 five stars is awesome! I wasn’t sure I’d love Remarkably Bright Creatures but I was all in almost immediately. Marcellus ❤️

Expand full comment
Aug 3Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My best book of July was The God of the Woods- 5⭐️- followed by Last House at 4.5⭐️! I went back to work this week (school begins super early in the south) and we’ve been obsessively watching the Olympics over the last week, so my reading will definitely slow down a bit now. I’m looking forward to my college aged daughter coming home this week and track and field starting! I’m super pumped about any particular book in August but I always look forward to reading. ☺️📚

Expand full comment
author

wow your school does start early! You’ve made me bump up Last House:)

Expand full comment
Aug 3Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My favorite book in July was the thriller Gray After Dark by Noelle W Ihli ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I celebrate my 40th birthday yesterday so it was a nice day.

Expand full comment
author

Happy 40th!🎉 I've never heard of this book, just looked it up and it sounds really good! And super high ratings- the synopsis reminded me of the book Still Missing by Chevy Stevens- have you read that one? That's an intense thriller that had plenty of twists and turns

Expand full comment
Aug 3Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Thank you 🌸 I have not read that one, but will check it out cause anything similar to Gray After Dark I am interested to 🤩

Expand full comment
Aug 3Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My July was busy but I'm enjoying seeing some small buds on the branches and daffodil leaves starting to pierce the ground - Spring's just around the corner!

My favourite July reads were The Middle of the Night by Riley Sager and The Paris Novel by Ruth Reichl. I really enjoyed knitting a big soft woolen hood for myself while listening to audiobooks. And I'm looking forward to my next reading retreat in August - 3 nights in a beautiful house all on the coast all by myself with my books!

Expand full comment
author

Your reading retreat sounds amazing, I’m sure you will have the most relaxing 3 days of reading- have you started planning what books you’ll take?

Expand full comment

I've still got another week so it depends what I get through in the next week - but on the current list is The Sleepwalkers by Scarlett Thomas, finishing off Fellowship Point by Alice Elliot Dark and the latest Shady Hollow! x

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I gave into FOMO and read God of the Woods! Fantastic...I love a mystery that is more character driven and less plot! I kept it up with the mystery/thrillers. We Begin at the End by Chris Whitaker and She Rides Shotgun by Jordan Harper were awesome backlist. FOMO got me though-I believed it! And actually bought a hard copy of the newest Riley Sager book and it was so very 'meh'.

Since August is Women in Translation Month-I've shopped my shelves and am into my third book, which I think has the potential to be a smash here-Pink Slime by Fernanda Arias (translated from the Spanish). Its cli-fi with so much more. Done so well-nothing wasted. Slim novel-its awesome!!

And here in CO, I am looking forward to Rocky Ford Cantaloupe and Palisade Peaches!

Expand full comment
author

Love that FOMO paid off for you with God of the Woods! I didn't know August is Women in translation month, I'll have to make sure I read something for it

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 3Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Red Queen or something Icelandic would be an excellent choice!

Expand full comment
author

I've read Red Queen, I may find a Scandinavian thriller or something by a French author as French translations have worked great for me in the past

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My reading was not all that great due to travel but had a great time on my trips! My favorite by far was God of the Woods. I also started The Briar Club which I am really enjoying.

I am looking forward to Fall Reading! I had to light an Apple Bourbon candle in my office because I am so ready!

I had a great girls trip to Savannah and some time with my sister at the lake!

Expand full comment
author

Your trips sound fun! Travel does make reading harder that's for sure. An Apple Bourbon candle sounds perfect for fall- it was storming and chilly tonight here and it felt like fall was in the air

Expand full comment

I am so ready for that time of year Renee! It’s my favorite reading season!

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I am so excited also because TJ Newman is my favorite author and I got approved on NetGalley to read her newest book, which I started last night. Her books are so propulsive. The book is Worst Case Scenario about a plane that crashes into a nuclear power plant in Minnesota and the aftermath. It publishes on August 13th.

Expand full comment
author

congrats on getting an early copy👏🏻

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I had an excellent month of reading in July! I read 13 books and I enjoyed almost all of them. I had two 5⭐️ reads, one almost 5⭐️ book and three 4.5⭐️ books. My favorites were The Dearly Beloved (all of the stars for this book!), Colton Gentry’s Third Act and The Lion Women of Tehran. My biggest disappointment was The Guncle Abroad started out great, but then got annoying before it wrapped up nicely. It was only 3 stars.

Expand full comment
author

wow you had a great reading month of highly rated books! Glad Colton was a winner for you, that was a really good read

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Also looking forward to reading some big summer book reads I haven’t gotten to yet like All of the Colors of the Dark and Just for the Summer as well as a couple backlist picks that are on my battle of the backburners challenge for myself

Expand full comment
Aug 2Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I really enjoyed “Crow Talk” by Eileen Garvin. It was my first ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ of the year!

Expand full comment
author

July reading was good to you!!

Expand full comment

My five ⭐️ read is All the Colors of the Dark and Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah for July. I’m looking forward to my August reads, currently reading The Winner, so far a fantastic read! I’m also looking forward to reading recs from July, Italian themed, The Marraige Portrait, Still Life, August Blue and Diavola. I’m so excited for my August reads!

Expand full comment

July was a very slow reading month for me, but I did enjoy The Laughter as well as a book one of my friends recommended called The Fox and I (audio). My July was packed full of travel and friends which was amazing. I am looking forward to more routine in August as my travels pause for a while.

Expand full comment