115 Comments
author

One book I love to recommend and I think has wide appeal is THE STATIONARY SHOP by Marjan Kamali - I like to recommend this because it has a bit of everything- historical fiction, set over decades, a love story, and a bit of mystery

The last book recommendations I received were yesterday! I had the best afternoon visiting a new Indie Bookstore in Columbus called Storyline Bookshop. It's truly the best curated bookstore in Columbus and that includes all the Barnes & Noble's I visit. I got to have a wonderful book conversation with the owner Janine and after telling her the types of books I like to read and what I was looking for, she recommended MY DARK VANESSA by Kate Elizabeth Russell and THE GOLDFINCH by Donna Tartt. The Goldfinch is on my fall tbr and while I've definitely heard of My Dark Vanessa I've never tried it. This is why I love personal recommendations, based on what I told Janine I liked that was her first recommendation so of course I bought it:) I also bought The Goldfinch

This week my reading has been scattered because I'm reading a secret mystery for the Reading Simplified post. But I'm also reading THE STAND by Stephen King on my Kindle. This dual reading has reminded me that I don't really enjoy reading two different books at once. I prefer to sink into one story at a time.

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My Dark Vanessa was outstanding. One of my favorites that I read and discussed with Dear Basic Buddy Reads.

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I thought My Dark Vanessa was really good Renee! It is a dark and haunting tale but I think it is a solid recommendation for you!

Expand full comment
author

Oh good, I'm planning on picking it up after I finish my second secret mystery book

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Have you watched the more recent tv series of The Stand? We watched it earlier this year and I loved it! x

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

You will not find it surprising that I don’t like reading more than one book at a time either. The only reason I’m doing it this week is because the one book is only 2 1/2 hours long.

Expand full comment
author

I'm not surprised we are alike in that reading preference:)

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. To me, it is the perfect book.

2. All Our Yesterdays by Natalia Ginzburg

3. 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in this Strange World by Elif Shafak

Happy Weekend Renee!!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for the recs! Happy weekend!

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

What a fun question! I recommend SEARCH a lot because I think it appeals to both character driven readers and readers who like to be kept on the edge of their seats. This year JAMES has been my go-to, but that’s a pretty universal opinion. Some more niche books I like to shout about are SIGNS PRECEDING THE END OF THE WORLD and POSSESSION.

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Yes to SEARCH! The book no one expected to like and then all became obsessed with. 😂

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Search 🥰

Expand full comment
author

ok I must read Search! I wouldn't have guessed that was your pick, I love being surprised:)

Expand full comment

I have had Search on my bookshelf for awhile maybe that will be going on my Fall TBR! 🍁

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. When asked, I recommend MARY JANE or SEARCH depending on the reader.

2. A friend recommended TOM LAKE audio. In high school I was in Our Town, so after reading Our Town I’ll definitely be listening.

3. Finished The Best Lies. Author David Ellis has become a favorite. On this morning’s walk I started The Nature of Disappearing. Thought of you Renee.

Expand full comment
author

Forgot to say I loved Mary Jane and based on all the love for Search in this thread I’m definitely going to read that

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for the recs. I'm glad to hear you liked The Best Lies, I have that on audio. Still need to read The Nature of Disappearing- I love that you thought of me, I do love a disappearance story

Expand full comment
Aug 27Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I've heard mixed reviews of NATURE OF DISAPPEARING but I read it & really liked it.

Expand full comment

Oh, definitely listen to Tom Lake….it is like having a warm friendly hug.

Expand full comment

Loved Mary Jane! Read it at the beginning of the summer!

Expand full comment

Oh I've been wondering which David Ellis to get onto next!

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. I love recommending Kelly Corrigan to people. I love all of her work, but TELL ME MORE probably has the most universal appeal.

2. I have never read Kristan Higgins before, but one of the hosts of the Well Read podcast mentioned her as an autobuy author and suggested starting with THE BEST MAN, which I listened to in 24 hours last week.

3. I currently have too many books going and need to wrap some up this weekend before my school year starts up and my brain capacity for reading changes. I am reading ALL THE COLORS OF THE DARK by Chris Whitaker and need to finish it by Sunday for the author chat with Kelly Hooker. I'm also reading in print and listening on audio at the same time to THE ANXIOUS GENERATION by Jonathan Haidt, which has so much good information about how screens are impacting our youth. I'm doing a slow but steady of THE SUMMER BOOK by Tove Jansson, and this quiet book has been great for my summer soul. I'm also listening to THE TRUTHS WE HOLD by Kamala Harris, which I'm enjoying quite a bit.

Expand full comment
author

Kelly corrigan is an author I want to read, thanks for that rec and LeAnn liking it too is a double rec:) I read a couple Kristin Higgins that I loved - NOW THAT YOU MENTION IT AND ON SECOND THOUGHT. I meant to read THE SUMMER BOOK, It caught my eye on Sara Hildreth's Paperback Summer Reading Guide last year

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I’ve read all of KC’s books, but I’ve often said I’d gift Tell Me More to every woman I know. It’s full of such good stuff! ❤️

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Totally agree about TELL ME MORE.

Expand full comment

I loved Tell Me More! It’s about time for a reread of that!

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

The Things We Cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer because it has such a special place in my heart.

Expand full comment
author

Oh my gosh Amy, welcome to Substack!! I thought that was your profile pic but then it wasn't Novelgossip so I was confused for a second- you and Sarah are on Substack, Yay!!!

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Thanks Renee!! We are and super excited to be here ❤️

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

10 stars for Kelly Rimmer and this book. I finally read Before I Let You Go and loved it as well.

Expand full comment

I loved that one too!

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles

3. I recently finished the outstanding, 2024 Hugo Award winning, fantasy novelette, “The Year Without Sunshine” by Naomi Kritzer. You can listen to it for free on The Uncanny Magazine podcast (November 7, 2023 episode).

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1) This is so much harder than it should be! I’m going to cheat a little. 🙂 Books I’ve loved and recommend for universal appeal:

DIXON DESCENDING- so many relatable issues to unpack here and seems to appeal equally to men and women. And my 1st cheat is to add as a monolith, AMOR TOWLES. Well written, well told stories of timeless themes and appealing characters.

2nd cheat: Books I want to push on people that aren’t for everyone 😂: VALENTINE and OUR WIVES UNDER THE SEA.

2) This wasn’t recommended directly to me, but in this group THE BANKERS WIFE was recommended by Renee and others and I loved it! Very rare for a thriller for me.

3) currently finishing up PERRIS, CALIFORNIA and 30% into THE SINGERS GUN.

Expand full comment
author

These are acceptable cheats, I love the category recommendations. I'm very curious to hear your thoughts on both your current reads, esp Perris!!

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Finished PERRIS last night and loved it! I just loved and pulled for all of those characters who were written with so much dignity and humanity! It oddly reminded me of the show Friday Night Lights.

Expand full comment
author

Oh whew I was really hoping you would love it! Yes- their dignity and humanity- so well said. You know now that you mention it, I can see the Friday Night Light vibes for sure

Expand full comment
Aug 25Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I'm looking forward to reading Perris, California! Susie raved about it on Sarah's Bookshelves podcast.

Expand full comment
Aug 27Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I saw Susie's review first, then Renee's, and I was sold! It was wonderful, btw.

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. Deacon King Kong by James McBride, hilarious and poignant

2. The Terranauts by T.C. Boyle which I’m not sure will appeal to me, though I trust the recommendation

3. Sipsworth by Simon Van Booy, hopeful, emotional

Expand full comment
author

Thank you! I've never heard of the TC Boyle title

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My current book recommendation is THE LOST BOOKSHOP by Evie Woods. It has a touch of a mystical edge, which I normally do not enjoy. However, the story was grounded "enough" in reality to satisfy me. The story drew me in and I devoured the book in no time flat. I only found this book because it was the last book that was recommended to me!

I have several books in process: THE BOOKSHOP by Evan Friss, a fascinating non-fiction book looking at the history of bookshops; IT by Stephen King, as I continue my long-held goal to re-read every book of his in order by date of publication (yes, I own them all!); THE COUNT OF MONTE CRISTO by Alexandre Dumas, via the Serial Reader app I only discovered earlier this year thanks to a book-related podcast.

Expand full comment
author

wow what a reading goal - to reread every Stephen King! That's amazing- would you say your thoughts have changed on anything the second time around? I plan on doing a reread of 11/22/63 on audio someday

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

While I still enjoy all of King’s works, I am finding myself a bit uncomfortable this time around. The books written in the 70s and 80s contain themes and language we don’t typically see today and it seems surprising when I run across it. Though, it was entirely reflective of the times. I also find myself pretty squirmy because this time I know what’s coming! For example, Cujo was extremely difficult to read because I’ve given birth and raised a son since the first time I read it. Boy, that one was tough to get through.

Expand full comment
author

I'm noticing the same thing in The Stand, there's some language used that is so jarring because it's not what I see in books today and it pulls me out of the story because it just seems like it could've been easy to choose different words

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Hi All,

Love to reco: A GENTLEMAN IN MOSCOW (Amor Towles)

Last reco from someone: YOU ARE HERE (David Nichols)

Today I am starting ASSASSINS ANONYMOUS (Rob Hart); I finished FROSTBITE (Nicola Twilley)

Expand full comment
author

Thanks Jan! I would love to hear your thoughts on Assassins A, I have the audio of it but haven't tried it yet

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. I love to recommend The Birth Order Book. I read it when I was pregnant w my 2nd child who is 12 now. It taught me SO MUCH about myself, my immediate family, my husband, his immediate family and about what we had to look forward to w our own family. I still think about this book all the time and have referred back over the years.

2. The last book recommended to me was It Starts With Us bc I went to see the movie It Ends With Us w 2 friends who had read them. I am not a Colleen Hoover fan, but I did like the movie so I read the book. Probably my first and last by her.

3. Currently reading Long Island and loving it! I was a little hesitant bc I found Brooklyn to be a little boring, and the main character to be very frustrating, but I’m finding Long Island to be page turning!

Expand full comment
author

I've never heard of The Birth Order Book, thanks for sharing that rec!

Expand full comment

I love reading about birth order and anything to do with theories of personality. I major in psychology and love that class. I felt the same way you did about Brooklyn and was hesitant to read Long Island. I did read it and really really liked it. Thought it was great.

Expand full comment

I’m not a Colleen Hoover fan either but saw the movie with daughter in law and plan to read It Starts with Us because she said it was even better than the movie.

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I’m a senior as our many of fellow readers I recommend THE LOVE STORY OF MISSY CARMICHAEL by BETH MORREY., older woman dealing with the present, looking back, slight estrangement with middle age daughter. It’s a re read for me.

Last book a close friend recommended so we good have a deep discussion, MAD HONEY by Jodi Picoult & Laura Finney Boylan

Expand full comment
author

I love stories where someone is narrating the story and looking back on their life. My book club just had a really great discussion about Mad Honey Last night

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I love to recommend 11/22/63, always one of my faves 💖 Last rec I received was The return of Ellie Black which I really enjoyed! I recently finished The invisible hour by Alice Hoffman

Expand full comment

Great choice with 11/22/63...my son finally read it after he grew weary of my repeated recommendation and loved it too!

Expand full comment

such a wonderful book 💕

Expand full comment

3 for 3 for me. You've got great taste, Ani!

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. THE CLASS BY ERIC SIEGAL. It is an old book from the 980’s but it is along the same story line as A Little Life but not as dark. For a more recent book i would be THE HEART’S INVISIBLE FURY BY JOHN BOYNE. How do I even put into words why I recommend this book all the time? Cannot describe it. 2. UNTIL AUGUST BY GABRIEL GARCIA MARQUES. You recommended it recently and I mentioned that I have had it on my wishlist forever and just never got around to reading it. Started it last night before I went to bed. 3. ENEMY OF THE STATE BY ROBERT SWARTWOOD. It is book 2 in THE KILLING ROOM series. The book dropped in my audible library at midnight Tuesday and I finished it by Wednesday at noon. I also read A DOG’S CHANCE BY CASEY WILSON. Every once in a while I need to indulge in a dog book and this one featured a golden retriever. I also started A LADY’S GUIDE TO FORTUNE HUNTING BY SOPHIE IRWIN. This book could have easily been put as an answer for question too.

Expand full comment
author

I'm going to check out The Class, I remember now that you recommended that at one point, I like the sound of it. Wow you totally binged Enemy of the state, did you end up loving it?

Expand full comment

I really did enjoy that book. The first book was definitely better. And I saw some room for improvement in the writing style of the second book. But it was just a fast paced thriller that you had a hard time putting down. He’s a new author and I’m sure with time he will polish his writing style.

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I recommend “Stolen Lives” by Oufkir. Someone recommended a book to me this week for which they can’t remember the title. It was about a dying child that wanted to meet the author of Narnia. I finished James by Everett and The Searchers by Tana French. Liked both of them.

Expand full comment

I loved the searchers. Also loved the second book which is the hunter.

Expand full comment
Aug 28Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR, by Paul Kalanithi.. Oprah's WHAT I KNOW FOR SURE was a very close one too.

Expand full comment
author

thanks! I really loved both of those books too:)

Expand full comment
Aug 26Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

Good morning Renee,

Reporting back on Assassins Anonymous: I gave it 4* overall. It got off to a good and (to me) humorous) start but the frequent time shifting from past events to present time I found more annoying rather than confusing. The last third, however, made it worth the read. Let me know if you tackle it.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for the info Jan, back and forth timelines haven't been working great for me lately so I'll probably hold off on this for now

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 26Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My pick for a book with universal appeal is a toss up between "Remarkably Bright Creatures" and "We Are the Light"... I'm going with "Remarkably Bright Creatures"!

Expand full comment
Aug 25Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. It depends on the reader! My Go-to’s are The Idea of You, Daisy Jones & The Six, or The Goldfinch

2. The Rom-Commers

3. Seven Summers by Paige Toon

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. While I was Gone by Sue Miller was amazing! It is my recommendation for literary fiction. It is a mystery, romance and the setting is in the seventies, then it goes to 30 years later. A very good plot and and character driven.

2. The last recommendation I received- Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah. I love historical fiction and this was definitely a classic Kristin Hannah book, it was a mix of romance, history and family saga.

3. I’m currently reading Still Life by Sarah Winman and also reading The Stand by Stephen King. I’m just starting Still Life today, and I’m slowly reading The Stand. I took a break from the Stand this past week as I finished Diavola by Jennifer Connelly. Diavola was a great mix of family drama and horror!

Expand full comment
author

You sold me on the Sue Miller:) I can't wait to hear what you think of Still Life. I'm going so slow on The Stand, I think I'm on chapter 15- what do you think of the story and writing so far?

Expand full comment

I loved Winter Garden. Definitely in her backlist and very good!

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. Demon Copperhead- I recommend it a lot and everyone who has read it also loved it 💕

2. Twenty years later- I love a smart thriller with a side of romance

3. I just started The Stolen Child but I may put it aside, yesterday I bought Jodi picoults new one- By any other name

Expand full comment
author

Demon 🙌🏻

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

EVVIE DRAKE STARTS OVER by Linda Holmes is a book I love to recommend! I still think about the characters in that book. I’m not a huge romance reader and there is obviously a romance element to this book but I felt like it had a lot of substance too. If a romance can hit a sweet spot between a good love story but also has meaning and thoughtful life lessons it is a win for me.

I was just recommended Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides by a friend that reads similarly to me. If any of you have read that I would love to hear your thoughts! That may be my next read or I may read that in the winter.

I’m currently reading My Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry that is a book club selection at a local pub that I go to. Not necessarily well written but I just finished Same As It Ever Was (5 stars ⭐️) and I needed something easy breezy to fly through and this one fits the bill.

Happy Saturday everyone!

Expand full comment
author

Happy Weekend! I love that you're in a pub bookclub! I'm glad to see Same as it ever was was a 5 star hit for you, that's a story that has stayed with me since reading it in Feb- well Helen Russo esp, she's a memorable character. That's my type of romance- how you described Evvie- thanks for the rec. I haven't read Middlesex but I'm curious to see if others chime in about it. I feel like I've seen rave reviews on it and also one star reviews - those sometimes make for interesting reads

Expand full comment

EVVIE is a great universal rec! I’m also not a romance or romance com reader and I absolutely loved this book.

Expand full comment
Aug 24·edited Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My favorite book to recommend is LONESOME DOVE by Larry McMurtry. It is a masterpiece, and I still remember so many things about it. I was on the trail with Cal and Gus, and I was in the world of cowboys and all their adventures.

I just added the book SHY CREATURES by Claire Chambers in my TBR journal. Susie from Novel Visits recommended it, and it is about Helen, a therapist and William, hidden for many years.

This week I finished listening to SLOW DANCE by Rainbow Rowell and I loved it so much. I found myself saving it, and I didn't want to leave the world of Shiloh and Cary. The audio is excellent.

Expand full comment
author

Lonesome Dove is sure making a comeback in the reading world this summer, I've added it to my tbr, I love that you called it a masterpiece. Shy Creatures sounds good!

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

One book I love to recommend is THE MEASURE by Nikki Erlick. It goes down easy but has a lot of depth/points that make you think. My mom and I are vastly different readers (and people) and we both love this book.

Expand full comment
author

Such a great discussion book, I agree this would appeal to a wide variety of readers

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

What I love to recommend is hard, because what is the distinction between talking about books (which I obviously love to do) with other people who love talking about books and write down the titles….and recommending A book? I am going to say The Secret History by Donna Tartt. Because I read it so long ago and can still feel the depth and how enmeshed I was in it.

The last book recommended to me was actually Executive Functions for Every Classroom by Mitch Weathers, because also I am a nerd.

I am currently finishing Shelterwood by Lisa Wingate. Good enough to finish, but not my favorite of hers so I am anxious to finish and move on.

Expand full comment
author

I think in my mind the distinction I was going for in asking for a recommendation was getting people to think about a cross between a favorite book that they love mixed with one that could possibly appeal to "most" people. It's a fine line for sure. I'm definitely reading The Secret History this fall, thanks for your recs- love a unique nonfiction title too

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. THE SPOONSTEALER-Lesley Crewe This book was so delightful and unexpected. I want everyone to meet Emmeline and Vera.

2. A GOOD LIFE-Virginie Grimaldi Bookseller recommendation- an almost perfect book. UpLit. A book you want to hug but lots of triggers. And bonus, it’s in translation.

3. Currently reading: TELL TO ME SINGING-Tita Ramirez. Just 50 pages in but looking forward to continue reading!

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for your recs! I've never heard of it, I love that I'm using so many unique titles people are recommending, it's going to make this project even more fun

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I’m recommending The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. A beautiful tale that evokes many feelings. Perfect for the upcoming chilly season.

One book that has been getting recommended is The Women. I have it all set for the first book in September.

And I’m finishing up the new William Kent Kruger Spirit Crossing. So far so good.

Expand full comment
author

Beatrice I really think you'll like The Women, can't wait to hear your thoughts. I'm adding The Snow child to my late fall tbr

Expand full comment

I can’t wait to hear what you think.

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I loved THE SNOW CHILD. It’s underrated IMO.

Expand full comment

Totally second The Snow Child! Loved that book!

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. Forever by Pete Hamill

2. Children Of God (follow up to The Sparrow.

3. The Paper Palace 📖 and 🎧 and Darling Girls 🎧.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks!

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I love to recommend LEGENDS AND LATTES by Travis Baldree - especially for people who need something to uplift them and give them a literary hug!

The last book rec I got was from the Currently Reading Facebook Group and it's my current read THE SPELLSHOP by Sarah Beth Durst - I'm loving it, very similar cosy fantasy vibe to L&L which has been a much needed palette cleanser as I finished WHEN THE NIGHT COMES FALLING by Howard Blum this week which was one of the best books I've ever read and was also very unsettling.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for your recs! I haven't heard of the Blum book but you got my attention by saying it's one of the best books you've read AND it's unsettling! I'm intrigued

Expand full comment
Aug 24Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

It’s another journalistic insight into the Idaho Murders but it’s more focussed on the investigation and the lead up to the trial - but the way he’s done it and put everything together while not making it sensational is just superb

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I’m going to give two recommendations for you to choose from. ORDINARY GRACE by William Kent Krueger and GILEAD by Marylynn Robinson.

Last recommendation I received was BABY X by Kira Peikoff

I am currently reading GOD OF THE WOODS by Liz Moore and listening to AN ACT OF FOUL PLAY (#9 in the Lady Hardcastle series) by T.E. Kinsey; this series makes for great palate cleansers.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, I'll take both of those recs:)

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

My idea of universal appeal may be a little skewed as my lane is usually more unhinged, a bit weird, not for everyone. But I like to recommend PRIEST DADDY: A MEMOIR by Patricia Lockwood. It’s comical but ultimately affectionate, about family and faith. It’s relatable to anyone who has ended up somewhere different than where they started.

Expand full comment
author

Oh I love this rec, and the way you described it. This is what's so fun about getting recs, it also helps us all get a peek into our reading tastes - I'm all for unhinged and a bit weird:)

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. Remarkably Bright Creatures. Something for everyone, and the audio is outstanding!

2. Last recommendation I received was The God of the Woods; reading it now!

3. Finished The Shell Seekers. Liked it a lot, but longer than it needed to be (IMHO)

Expand full comment
author

Thanks! Agree the audio of RBC was perfection

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng is in my top 10 favorite books of all time!

Expand full comment
author

awesome thanks for sharing the rec

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. I find myself recommending All the Lonely People and The Measure often to a variety of different type of readers

2. A friend of mine lent me a book she read this week because she thought I would really like called The River Midnight.

3. This past week I read a ton of great books! I finished Twenty Years Later (4.25 stars), Hello Stranger (4.25 stars), The Cuban Heiress (4.25 stars) and Just for the Summer (5 stars). I set down a couple not fitting my mood and I am currently reading All the Shadows We Hide and The Wedding People.

Expand full comment
author

A great reading week for you! Thanks for sharing your recs, The Measure is one I thought about recommending too

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. I love to recommend THE MEASURE BY NIKKI ERLICK. It’s oh-so-discussable, and I have yet to meet a person who doesn’t want to jump right in when they hear the premise!

2. The last books recommended to me on the MMD book club site were Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty and Weather by Jenny Offill. Both still on my TBR.

3. Currently reading ALL THE COLORS OF THE DARK by Christ Whitaker in print and an ARC of HERE ONE MOMENT by Liane Moriarty on Kindle (sooo good so far and giving similar vibes to The Measure!).

Expand full comment
author

I almost recommended The Measure, I agree it definitely has wide appeal. I have a copy of Here One Moment, I can't wait to dive into it

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

The Women by Kristin Hannah and Yours Truly by Abby Jimenez are 2 that I have recommended and have actually given my copy to people to enjoy.

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah is one book I have rec from a friend and she borrowed it to me. (Haven’t read it yet) The Girl who slept with God rec from a podcast and am currently reading.

Others currently reading, The creative act by Rick Rubin (so far not impressed) The Rule book by Sarah Adam’s, Goddess (The secret lives of Marilyn Monroe) by Anthony Summers

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for your recs!

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I love to recommend REMARKABLY BRIGHT CREATURES -- so excited this is going to be a movie!

I received a book recommendation from a friend - THE FOX AND I by Catherine Raven - this was outside my reading "norm" but I really loved it! About a fairly isolated lady becoming "friends" with a fox.

I finished We Burn Daylight on audible this week -- I liked it, maybe 3.5 stars for me. Finishing up Perris, CA on my kindle this weekend!

Expand full comment
author

I bought The Fox and I awhile ago but haven't read it yet, I thought it sounded so good. I'm glad to hear you loved it

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

A Little Hope by Ethan Joella has my heart and Twenty Years Later by Charlie Donlea is a great thriller/ mystery

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

I’m finding it hard to limit to only one recommendation! 😂 I think I’m going to go with CREATIVITY, INC. which is the founder of Pixar, Ed Catmull, memoir on starting the company and tips for leadership/management. It helped me understand better ways to work with people, be more creative in my work, and understand the effect leadership has on company culture. Even if you’re not in a corporate job I think you’ll get something great out of this book.

My most recent book recommendation, that I picked up, is THE BOOK OF DELIGHTS by Ross Gay.

I’m currently reading ANITA DE MONTE LAUGHS LAST which I am loving. Anita is full of passion and spunk, even when it gets her into trouble, which I wish I could emulate.

Expand full comment
author

Ooh your rec sounds so interesting and one I haven't heard of, thanks for sharing it. I LOVE Ross Gay's essays, I listened to TBOD and it was delightful haha

Expand full comment
Aug 23Liked by Renee - Itsbooktalk & More

1. ANNIE BOT BY Sierra Greer

2. A SEASON OF PERFECT HAPPINESS by Maribeth Fischer

3. WORST CASE SCENARIO by T.J. Newman

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for your recs friend!

Expand full comment